The Kingdom of Cambodia (ព្រះរាជាណាចក្រកម្ពុជា ឬ ប្រទេសកម្ពុជា) (sometimes transliterated as Kampucheato more closely represent the Khmer pronunciation) is a Southeast Asian nation bordered by Vietnam to the east, Laos to the north, Thailand to the northwest, and the Gulf of Thailand to the southwest.


  • Phnom Penh — the capital, just south of the geographical center of the country
  • Banlung — far northeastern provincial capital located near some great waterfalls and national parks
  • Battambang — the second biggest town of Cambodia
  • Kampot — town between the capital and Sihanoukville and gateway to the Bokor National Park
  • Koh Kong — small border crossing town near the Thai border
  • Kompong Thom — access to less well known (and less crowded) ancient temples and other sites
  • Kratie — relaxed river town in the north-east on the Mekong, and an excellent place to get a close look at endangered river dolphins
  • Siem Reap — the access point for Angkor Wat
  • Sihanoukville — seaside town in the south, also known as Kompong Som

    Other destinations

    • Angkor Archaeological Park — home of the imposing ruins of ancient Khmer civilization
    • Bokor National Park — ghostly former French hill resort
    • Kampong Cham — nice countryside village on the Mekong river and good place to meet real Cambodia
    • Kep — a seaside area which pre-dates Sihanoukville as the main beach resort in Cambodia; slowly being re-discovered by travellers
    • Krek — a small village on the backpacker trail between Kratie and Kampong Cham
    • Koh Ker — more ancient ruins, north of Angkor
    • Otres Village — a small village close to Sihanokville noted for its beach sunsets and mangrove river system.
    • Poipet — gritty border town that most overland visitors to Angkor pass through
    • Preah Vihear — cliff-top temple pre-dating Angkor
    • Tonle Sap Lake — huge lake with floating villages and Southeast Asia’s premier bird sanctuary